Americas, central: Postclassic cultures of mesoamerica

Susan Toby Evans

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapter


The Postclassic period (AD 900-1521) in Mesoamerican culture history is the final pre-Columbian era in a long sequence that extends back to the first humans in the geographical region we know as 'Middle America'. Middle America comprises the modern countries of Mexico, Guatemala, Belize, Honduras, El Salvador, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, and Panama. Middle America's northern boundary is defined by the arid reaches of northern Mexico and its southern boundary is the junction of Panama with South America. 'Mesoamerica' is a culture area, and it lies completely within Middle America, and consists of most of modern Mexico, all of Guatemala and Belize, and parts of Honduras and El Salvador. © 2008

Original languageEnglish (US)
Title of host publicationEncyclopedia of Archaeology
PublisherElsevier Inc.
Number of pages8
ISBN (Print)9780123739629
StatePublished - Jan 1 2008

All Science Journal Classification (ASJC) codes

  • Earth and Planetary Sciences(all)


Dive into the research topics of 'Americas, central: Postclassic cultures of mesoamerica'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this