Eight new high-temperature superconductors with the 1:2:4 structure

Donald E. Morris, Janice H. Nickel, John Y.T. Wei, Naggi G. Asmar, Jeffrey S. Scott, Ulrich M. Scheven, Charles T. Hultgren, Andrea G. Markelz, Jeffrey E. Post, Peter J. Heaney, David R. Veblen, Robert M. Hazen

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

239 Scopus citations


New high-temperature superconducting compounds RBa2Cu4O8 (R=Nd, Sm, Eu, Gd, Dy, Ho, Er, and Tm) which share the 1:2:4 structure of YBa2Cu4O8 are bulk synthesized using a new high-pressure oxygen technique. All compounds show substantial Meissner diamagnetism [(325)×10-4 emu/g at 20 K]. Critical temperatures (5781 K) vary inversely with ion size (opposite to 1:2:3), and directly with orthorhombic distortion (which is much smaller than in corresponding 1:2:3 compounds). R2Ba4Cu7Ox compounds (with alternating blocks of 1:2:3: and 1:2:4) were also prepared. The variable oxygen stoichiometry of 1:2:3 is not shared by the 1:2:4 compounds.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)7347-7350
Number of pages4
JournalPhysical Review B
Issue number10
StatePublished - 1989

All Science Journal Classification (ASJC) codes

  • Condensed Matter Physics


Dive into the research topics of 'Eight new high-temperature superconductors with the 1:2:4 structure'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this